My First Microsoft Flow with NAV

My First Microsoft Flow with NAV

I am very excited about the tools that are becoming available for us in the world of Microsoft Dynamics NAV, one of these tools is Microsoft Flow. Today I’ve setup my first NAV Flow on Microsoft Flow and I wanted to share my steps with you.

I’ve been trying to make this work for a few days. I’ve set a flow with the trigger “When a record is created” in the Item table but it didn’t work so I kept trying and I had some success! 🙂 This is in preview so I’m happy.

This is my “Hello World” of course with Microsoft Flow so it is very simple 🙂 When a customer record is modified in my Dynamics NAV database the flow will create a task for me in my Wunderlist (it is one of my favourite tools).

Flow

Preparation

1. Wunderlist Account

I have a wunderlist account already so I didn’t have to sign up but if you would like to follow this example you will need to sign up. (once again the link is here: wunderlist.com)

2. Dynamics NAV System

For this I created a new NAV 2017 Demo in Azure and executed the Initialize Virtual Machine PowerShell script. What else do I need? Flow will talk to my NAV system using an OData web service. I enabled my OData port on my Azure VM.

3. Microsoft Flow Account

I think I don’t have to mention this but I also sign up to Microsoft Flow.

Configure Connections in Flow

After signing in to Flow I wanted to go to the connection so I click on Settings/Connection.
FlowConnections

1. Dynamics NAV Connection

In the My Connection section, click Create connection, find Dynamics NAV in the list of connections and click on the Plus sign.

ConnectionDynamicsNAV

Enter the OData Feed http://yourserver:OdataPort/NAVServerInstance/OData, enter the username, password and the company name then click on Create Connection.

ConnectionSettings

2. Wunderlist Connection

Create a new connection but this time find the Wunderlist connection from the list. Click on the plus sign again to add the connector.

WunderlistConnection

This time you will receive a login page. Enter your credentials and click sign in.

WunderlistLogin

Create a new Flow

We are finally ready to create a Flow. Click on My Flow in the menu and click “Create from blank”.

1. Trigger

Our starting point is when we modify an existing customer in the NAV database so our trigger in Flow will be “Dynamics NAV – When a record is modified”. Type NAV into the search box and choose the trigger.

Flow_Trigger

At this point Flow will ask us to choose the NAV table we would like to work with. To choose the table use the drop down list.

CustomerDataSource

 

Click “New Step” and “Add an action”.

Flow_addAction

search Wunderlist and choose the “Wunderlist – Create a task”.

ChooseAnAction

Now you have to select on of your Lists from Wunderlist and add a title to your task. I find this bit awesome, because you can actually use field from the NAV Table.

CreateWunderListTask

 

Give your Flow a name if you haven’t done it yet and click “Save flow”.

Test the new Flow

To test the flow we just need to modify a customer in NAV, so I will modify the name of customer ‘10000’.

NewCustomername

And now we are waiting for Flow to do the work.

EmptyWunderlist

If you open your task and check the Run History section that tells you that they are checking in every 15 minutes.

It worked! 🙂 As you can see on the screenshot I modified one more customer just to make sure.

NewTasksInWunderlist

This is what I can see now in my flow under the Run History.

RunHistory

3 thoughts on “My First Microsoft Flow with NAV

  1. Hi Zayed,
    I have only tried it with this 2017 instance but Microsoft Flow is using an OData web service for the communication so this integration should work with 2016 as well.
    Regards,
    Marcell

    Like

Leave a Reply

